Howdy

March 1, 2007

Hey all, this will be a short post (sitting on my butt in front of the computer is not exactly recommended for me right now), but I wanted to express my deep thanks to everyone who has sent support, love, and energy (in whatever form) to Debbie and I over the last week. We are truly grateful to all of you, and I am particularly thankful that Debbie has had the support she needed.

Today is seven days since my surgery, and my first full day home. I am feeling pretty good, overall, and looking forward to feeling even better. Stanford sent me home with a remarkably busy recovery schedule, so much so that I remarked to Debbie today that I wasn’t sure there were enough hours in the day to get everything done. Of course, “things to get done” include lying down about three times a day for twenty minutes each, so don’t think I’m too busy. 🙂

I am taking so many pills that Debbie bought me one of those old-people pill grids, with days of the week across the top and times of day down the side. The bulk of pills are in the morning, so much so that after gulping down a startling number this morning I glanced down to notice I still had five left to swallow! (I wasn’t paying much attention to how many the nurses handed me in the hospital.) The number and variety of these magic beans will decrease over the next several weeks.

What can I say? The whole experience washes over like a tsunami. I’ll describe more as time, energy, and Stanford’s recovery schedule allows.

3 Responses to “Howdy”

  1. Sheba Najmi Says:

    Amazing! It might be a good thing they keep you so busy, lest you should dream of being bored. Welcome home and back to the blog world, Shawn!

  2. Danielle Says:

    Yayy!!! I was so relieved to see that you are doing so well. 🙂 Congratulations on the amazing successes so far. Looks like you made a great decision. Good luck keeping up with the pills and … okay, that was just an earthquake!… best wishes to you guys this week!

  3. Julie Muche' Says:

    Glad to hear that you are alive and well. Glad that you were healthy when you opted for the surgery as expectations for staying that way are much higher. 🙂 You were and are in my thoughts. Just take it easy and thank Debbie for being an awesome support through it all. Lucky to have a good pillar standing next to you. I am sure that the meds will disappear rather quickly. Just keep the BP in check and keep up their cardiac rehabilitation program (if you were back in HB, you might be next to my Dad doing the treadmill!). You passed through the hardest part. Congrats.


Comments are closed.

